Latest exam updates

Music Theory exams – March 2021

  • Online Music Theory exams (Grades 1 to 5) – we are cancelling the online exams planned for 16 March. Exams in May and June will go ahead as planned.
  • Paper Music Theory exams (Grades 6 to 8) – we will not be offering these exams in March. The next exams at Grades 6 to 8 will be in June 2021.
  • Grade 5 Music Theory requirement - from 1 January to 30 April 2021 only, candidates can take Grade 6 to 8 Performance or Practical exams without first passing Grade 5 Music Theory. From 1 May 2021, the Grade 5 Music Theory requirement will return with flexibility about timing.

For more information click here.


Performance Grade booking

The next booking period for remotely-assessed Performance Grade and ARSM exams opens in February. For details, see our dates and fees page.

Piano Star Duets

Compiled and edited by David Blackwell and Karen Marshall

Piano Star Duets is an exciting book for beginner pianists! With pieces from early beginner to Grade 2 level, Piano Star Duets has been tried out – and approved! – by children. Including a wide range of musical styles, from traditional melodies to jazzy and pop-style pieces, this collection will capture the imagination of young pianists everywhere.

New compositions and arrangements from 13 leading composers

  • Duets in a variety of configurations – for two pupils of a similar standard, for pupil-teacher, or pupils of different standards – plus some trios
  • A wide range of musical styles, from traditional melodies to jazzy and pop-style pieces
  • Varied techniques, introduced progressively
  • Fun musical games and top tips for duet playing
  • A number of the pieces from the book will appear on the ABRSM 2021 & 2022 Piano Syllabus, where duets are featured for the first time at Grades Initial – 3

Click here to purchase publications from the Piano Star series.

The complete list of composers and arrangers included in Piano Star Duets:

David Blackwell

Karen Marshall

Heather Hammond

Nikki Iles

June Armstrong

Mike Cornick

Alison Mathews

Peter Gritton

Nikolas Sideris

Marcel Zidani

Mark Tanner

William Chapman Nyaho

Vitalij Neugasimov

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. By using our website, you are agreeing to our cookie policy and consent to our use of cookies. Find out more.